From the Standing Committee: Nominating Committee Members Announced

September 20, 2022

Greetings in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ,

For nearly a month, the Standing Committee has been engaged in the prayerful work of selecting the members of the Bishop Nominating Committee. From 26 applicants, all of whom offered considerable gifts and skills, we have selected a committee of 15 members, and have also appointed a chaplain. The group represents the rich diversity of our diocese, and we are grateful to each person who has agreed to serve. You can find the Nominating Committee’s roster on the new bishop search website, along with news updates, the timeline for the search, and other information about the process of seeking our next bishop.

We are also glad to announce that the Rev. Gia Hayes-Martin, rector of St. John’s, Worthington, has accepted our invitation to chair the Nominating Committee. She will convene the committee’s retreat at Procter Center on October 7 and 8, when the committee will organize for business and assign other leadership positions and responsibilities. Throughout its work, the Nominating Committee will confer with consultant Anne Schmidt, who is providing experienced assistance to our search process.

Between now and next June, the Nominating Committee will be responsible for composing and circulating the diocesan profile; receiving applications for the position of bishop diocesan; and discerning the most appropriate candidates for the office. While the committee’s work will be conducted confidentially, we will provide periodic updates about its progress. In particular, you can expect to hear more later this fall about how to offer the Nominating Committee input as it creates the diocesan profile.

In the meantime, we ask you to pray for the members of the Nominating Committee; for those whom they will discern to be our candidates for bishop; and for continued healing for our Standing Committee’s president, Canon Scott Gunn.

Almighty God, giver of every good gift: Look graciously on your Church, and so guide the minds of those who shall choose a bishop for this Diocese, that we may receive a faithful pastor, who will care for your people and equip us for our ministries; through Jesus Christ
our Lord. Amen.

Yours faithfully,

Dr. James Allsop, vice-president
Dr. Elizabeth Barker
The Rev. Dr. Ellen Cook
Mr. Barry Feist
The Rev. David Kendall-Sperry, secretary
The Standing Committee of the Diocese of Southern Ohio